ProRemote App Review – Pro Tools Controller for iPhone iPod & iPad

ProRemote by Far Out Labs was the first DAW controller ever made for iOS, specifically for iPhone / iPod. I was fortunate enough to get a copy for review from the nice guys at and had the chance to mix a couple sessions with it. This tool was a very innovative and new technology when it was first released. The fact that you could manage a Pro Tools session straight from your iPhone back then was incredible. Since ProRemote’s release its been updated to be iPad compatible as well with the same app. Over the years several other DAW controllers have been released to iOS for a slew of different DAWs. You may be asking, “What makes this different then some of the others on the market?” Well I try to stay away from the fact that they did it first but you have to admit that this is some pretty impressive technology considering these guys did it before Core Midi. But aside from that, let’s dive in!

At first glance, ProRemote seemed difficult to setup. I seem to have been spoiled in my ways of Core Midi because I tried to set it up without reading the instructions. Once I read the well-detailed instructions on, and installed the ProRemote Server app, everything was setup within minutes.  (This app also includes install instructions for Ableton Live, Digital Performer, and Logic.)

The ease of use was incredible. At first, I didn’t see the necessity to have 32 tracks available at one time. That thought quickly diminished when I got knee deep in a session and banking tracks was no longer a requirement, as you can easily view 16 tracks on the iPad and 8 on the iPhone screen at once. I was quite surprised how well the invisible server handled the operation of everything. ProRemote is like having a duplicate of your Mix window on an iPad or iPhone. You can Write fader automation, Arm, Mute, Solo Tracks, and adjust panning, all the way down to controlling inserts. One thing I really enjoy about the functionality of this app is that it’s not hard to fine-tune the controls. When you’re trying to pan a track 48% to the right, that isn’t a hard task to accomplish. Simply double tap the pan knob and you will quickly see a bigger knob pop up in front of you. Now the numeric display of the panning knob only counts in increments of twenty but in Pro Tools you’ll notice every percent of the way is accounted for.

ProRemote features a fully functional Transport (Available separately as ProTransport on the App Store). When launched, the transport floats over the top of your mix window. When you tap the bottom of the screen a mini transport pops up with playback functionality. The full transport features:

  • Standard Transport play controls
  • Fully functional Touch Shuttle
  • Touch Sensitive Zoom
  • Counter Display
  • Loop-in/out
  • Punch in/out
  • Marker Controls
  • Save/Undo
  • Pre/Post

As you can see this Transport is no joke. Now here’s the fun part. This isn’t even the end.

The app also boasts a set of programmable MIDI pads (ProPads), an XY Pad (Pro XY), and even a Touchpad Mouse with butons and a scroll wheel showing a VNC like screen view inside. Check out everything in the Gallery at the bottom.

Next we have the expanded Transport with JogWheel. I’ll let the picture to the left explain all this. But let me just say that this Expanded transport wraps up the entire app and really give you the feeling of having a complete C24 on your “iDevice”. Let’s not forget to mention the crisp graphics… Some Classics never die, and I think the boys at Far Out Labs created a legend. I would definitely give this app Five stars. It may be on the high end as far as price goes with a tag of $99.99USD, but the quality and build is great. Any market DAW controller at this standard would run you at minimum twenty times this price. This fits in a backpack, laptop case, or pocket and has every feature you would normally use in your studio. I will be using this with my on-the-go Pro Tools 9 setup as a permanent solution. I highly recommend purchasing this application; just make sure production is your forte before you shell out for a minimal Pro Tools setup with a maximum app like ProRemote.


ProRemote on the App Store

Far Out Labs Website


Share this Story

Related Posts


  1. audiointerface

    May 31, 2012 at 1:16 am

    Nice ipad controller review, thank you!


    • Dom

      May 31, 2012 at 6:23 am

      Thanks for stopping by 🙂



    February 4, 2018 at 11:19 am

    309930 461826camping have been the very best activity that we can have during the summer, i enjoy to roast marshmallows on a campfire` 144983


  3. cara mendaftar cpns 2018

    February 25, 2018 at 6:25 am

    276489 765067In fact your creative writing abilities has inspired me to get my own web site now. Actually the blogging is spreading its wings quickly. Your write up is a good example of it. 551315


  4. 3$#

    February 26, 2018 at 7:43 pm

    72449 820804Really nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that Ive truly enjoyed surfing about your blog posts. After all I is going to be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again quite soon! 159965


  5. CPNS 2018 Kota Prabumulih

    February 27, 2018 at 12:16 am

    830679 774529Merely wanna input which you have a really nice internet internet site , I really like the pattern it truly stands out. 858167


  6. hi

    March 2, 2018 at 6:58 am

    Hmm is anyone else having problems with the pictures on this
    blog loading? I’m trying to figure out if its a problem on my end or if it’s the blog.
    Any responses would be greatly appreciated.


  7. pelican water filtration system reviews

    March 3, 2018 at 5:33 pm

    Consequences can result from unfiltered water.


  8. I supply feline and canine friendly companies.


  9. 24 hour tow truck

    March 4, 2018 at 12:27 pm

    Available solely on cars, mild vehicles and SUVs.


  10. Hi, I think your site might be having browser compatibility
    issues. When I look at your blog site in Opera, it looks fine but when opening
    in Internet Explorer, it has some overlapping. I just wanted to give you a
    quick heads up! Other then that, great blog!


  11. Truly no matter if someone doesn’t know then its up to other viewers that they will
    help, so here it occurs.


  12. tow truck near me cheap

    March 6, 2018 at 11:13 pm

    We also tow unique sports automobiles.



    March 8, 2018 at 1:47 am

    You could definitely see your enthusiasm within the article you write.
    The world hopes for even more passionate writers
    such as you who are not afraid to mention how they believe.
    All the time go after your heart.



    March 8, 2018 at 6:58 am

    Hi there, You’ve done an excellent job. I will definitely digg it and
    personally recommend to my friends. I’m sure they’ll be benefited from this
    web site.


  15. Fredericka

    March 8, 2018 at 8:43 pm

    Thank you for the auspicious writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.
    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! By the way, how can we communicate?


  16. foundation repair methods

    March 9, 2018 at 5:28 am

    The typical value of these piers is $300 per


  17. mexico vacation spots near san diego

    March 10, 2018 at 10:56 am

    Find critiques for Mexico household holidays.


  18. mexico vacations spots

    March 13, 2018 at 4:19 pm

    Mexico vacation packages supplied by Apple Vacations.



    March 14, 2018 at 2:17 pm

    Hi there, every time i used to check blog posts here in the early hours
    in the break of day, as i enjoy to learn more and more.



    March 15, 2018 at 12:34 am

    I’m truly enjoying the design and layout of your blog. It’s a very easy
    on the eyes which makes it much more enjoyable
    for me to come here and visit more often. Did you hire out a developer to create your theme?
    Excellent work!


  21. I don’t even know how I ended up here, but I thought this post was great.

    I don’t know who you are but certainly you’re going to a famous blogger
    if you are not already 😉 Cheers!


  22. jerry towing service athens ga

    March 15, 2018 at 1:31 pm

    Used tow trucks price $50,000 or extra.


  23. Tim

    March 16, 2018 at 12:01 pm

    There is certainly a lot to learn about this subject.
    I really like all the points you have made.


  24. party buses in new jersey

    March 16, 2018 at 1:21 pm

    You should definitely take a look at our classic automotive services.



    March 17, 2018 at 2:22 am

    Keep on writing, great job!


  26. insurance agent jobs houston tx

    March 17, 2018 at 12:59 pm

    SelectQuote is America’s #1 Term life sales company.


  27. oil tank removal nj average cost

    March 18, 2018 at 8:41 am

    Oil tank elimination in NY or CT doesn’t
    take lengthy.


  28. Fred

    March 19, 2018 at 5:47 pm

    If some one desires expert view regarding running a blog after that
    i suggest him/her to go to see this weblog, Keep up the nice job.



    March 19, 2018 at 8:06 pm

    The very best Boston pet sitters are right here.


  30. Hey! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from
    an established blog. Is it difficult to set up your own blog?
    I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast.
    I’m thinking about making my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any tips or suggestions? Many thanks


  31. Julian

    March 20, 2018 at 3:42 am

    Heya i am for the first time here. I came
    across this board and I to find It truly useful & it helped me out much.
    I’m hoping to give one thing again and help others like you helped me.


  32. residential foundation repair atlanta

    March 20, 2018 at 9:19 pm

    The average value of these piers is $300 per pier.


  33. blockchain technology stocks nyse

    March 21, 2018 at 12:20 am

    Enter blockchain know-how. What’s blockchain?


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Our Mailing List

Email Format

Free iTunes Gift Cards!

Find us on Google Plus