Cases, News

[Review] uNu EcoPak iPhone 5 Battery Case

Battery life is pretty great on the iPhone 5, but it’s still easily drained with heavy usage. Battery cases are essential to keep your iPhone operating all day long. Thanks to uNu, a new battery case is available for the iPhone 5, but not without a small caveat.

Overall, the uNu EcoPak is a very functional battery case. There’s two parts to the EcoPak case. The first part is a snap-on case for the iPhone 5. By itself, the snap-on case is a completely functional and semi-protective iPhone case. When you’re device needs more juice, attach the EcoPak battery and you’re good to go … well almost.

The only downside to the EcoPak is the need for a separate cable. Attaching the EcoPak battery to the back of its snap-on case partner will not charge your iPhone 5. You’ll need to make sure you have a Lightning cable available or a short USB to micro USB cable with the Lightning to micro USB adapter attached.

Now before you get upset about this, there are a few things you should know. Apple has just recently started officially certifying the use of Lightning connectors on third-party products. The only companies I know of at the moment with an official “okay” from Apple are Griffin and Belkin. Sure, uNu could have used some crummy knock-off Lightning connector to make a battery case like some other subpar solutions, but they have a higher standard which ultimately benefits the consumer.

The EcoPak features a 2500mAh battery, multi-device swappable eco-friendly design, and 8 colorful snap-on case options (only one case comes with the EcoPak bundle). This case will more than double the battery life of your iPhone 5.

Check out my video review below:


The Ecopak’s design is great. I love the removable battery because it allows you to keep a slim profile on the iPhone 5, but add the extra battery power when you need it most. Also, the battery pack isn’t just for an iPhone. It can be used to charge almost any device via the USB port on the bottom.


Like I said above, this case does require a Lightning cable or micro USB cable with the Lightning adapter to function. While that’s not exactly uNu’s fault, it’s still a notable concern that some people may have.

Final Thoughts

At the moment, this seems to be the best battery case solution that I’ve encountered for the iPhone 5. While I’m sure other battery cases will arrive on the market once Apple opens up Lightning certification to more companies, the EcoPak can still hold strong due to its multi-device charging compatibility. Sure it’s a great iPhone 5 battery case, but it’s also on-the-go power for any other USB rechargeable device.

The uNu EcoPak will set you back $79.95, but uNu wants to save you some money. If you head over to their new ECO-Recycling page, you may be qualified to pick up this case for only $19.95. If you recycle your old battery case or qualifying battery product, uNu will slash the price on the EcoPak. Head over to the uNu website for more information.

If you’d like to purchase the EcoPak, head on over to Amazon and find out more information.

[xrr rating=4/5]
Share this Story

Related Posts


  1. BeyondtheTech

    December 13, 2012 at 8:38 am

    I like the idea. A lot of battery packs are different shapes and sizes, and usually lands inside a bag you have to lug around, but this sizes up perfectly to the iPhone 5 as well as keep it nearby.

    Maybe the company can offer additional batteries you can buy and keep a stash of them handy if you’re not going to be near an outlet or always on the go.

    On a sidenote, I pledged for the Nomad on Kickstarter, which is a Lightning cable that is short and sturdy enough to hang on a ring with your car and house keys: I think it would go well with this battery case.


    • Dom Esposito

      December 13, 2012 at 8:48 am

      I didn’t see any spare battery packs for sale on the uNu website, but that may be something they offer in the future. If I hear anything, I’ll be sure to update the article.


  2. PK Studies CRO

    January 22, 2018 at 8:31 pm

    768449 865487Aw, this became an extremely nice post. In concept I would like to set up writing like that moreover – taking time and actual effort to generate a great article but what / items I say I procrastinate alot by way of no indicates appear to get something completed. 84253


  3. sponsored story ads

    February 1, 2018 at 7:52 am

    520462 356467Thanks for your time so much for your impressive and remarkable guide. I will not be reluctant to endorse your internet websites to any individual who need to receive direction on this issue. 873416



    February 1, 2018 at 4:40 pm

    723128 174552There is noticeably a bundle to realize about this. I assume you made various good points in capabilities also. 253273


  5. Best Event Managers

    February 12, 2018 at 1:51 am

    761672 554640I enjoyed reading your pleasant website. I see you offer priceless info. stumbled into this website by chance but Im certain glad I clicked on that link. You surely answered all of the questions Ive been dying to answer for some time now. Will surely come back for a lot more of this. 355395


  6. green coffee

    February 24, 2018 at 1:49 am

    774848 424754As I web site owner I conceive the content material material here is rattling excellent , thanks for your efforts. 716048


  7. cons 2018

    February 25, 2018 at 7:35 am

    378839 390003Oh my goodness! a fantastic post dude. Thanks a good deal Nevertheless I will probably be experiencing trouble with ur rss . Dont know why Not able to sign up for it. Is there everybody acquiring identical rss concern? Anybody who knows kindly respond. Thnkx 987588


  8. hi

    March 2, 2018 at 4:29 pm

    I visited various web pages however the audio quality for audio songs existing at this website is truly superb.



    March 2, 2018 at 10:46 pm

    Hey there just wanted to give you a brief heads up and let you know a
    few of the pictures aren’t loading properly. I’m not
    sure why but I think its a linking issue. I’ve tried it in two different browsers and both show the same results.


  10. We’re professional and loving caretakers for your pets.


  11. GUSTAV

    March 4, 2018 at 8:37 am

    Well I like what you said,As a junior i want some suggestion. Check my video.Thanks


  12. tow truck near me cheap

    March 6, 2018 at 11:23 pm

    Towing is our business and we run it as a family.



    March 7, 2018 at 4:39 am

    I visited several sites except the audio quality for audio songs present at this
    web page is truly marvelous.


  14. __p11

    March 16, 2018 at 8:18 pm

    123477 368144Some genuinely good and utilitarian information on this web web site , likewise I believe the layout has fantastic capabilities. 705922



    March 19, 2018 at 10:58 pm

    I think that everything published made a ton of
    sense. However, consider this, what if you typed a catchier post title?
    I am not saying your information isn’t good, but
    suppose you added a post title that grabbed a person’s
    attention? I mean [Review] uNu EcoPak iPhone
    5 Battery Case | macmixing is a little plain. You should peek at Yahoo’s home page and see
    how they create article headlines to grab viewers to
    open the links. You might add a related video or a pic or two to get people interested about what you’ve written.
    Just my opinion, it could make your posts a little bit more interesting.


  16. water filtration system reviews singapore

    March 20, 2018 at 12:16 am

    Which one is the perfect complete house water filter?.


  17. Louanne

    March 20, 2018 at 2:17 am

    constantly i used to read smaller content which also clear their motive, and
    that is also happening with this paragraph which I am reading now.


  18. tree services alpharetta ga

    March 20, 2018 at 7:20 am

    Professionals should handle tree service.


  19. blockchain technology investment

    March 20, 2018 at 10:52 pm

    “НРД проголосовал за блокчейн” NSD blockchain vote.


  20. park city real estate

    March 21, 2018 at 12:17 pm

    221094 199445An intriguing discussion will probably be worth comment. I believe that you simply write much a lot more about this subject, it may possibly become a taboo subject but generally consumers are inadequate to communicate in on such topics. To yet another. Cheers 848219


  21. cheap towing service athens ga

    March 22, 2018 at 4:53 am

    We’re your greatest towing company in Atlanta.


  22. stair builders near me

    March 22, 2018 at 11:29 am

    Moisture over time will harm wood and metallic.


  23. towing services evansville indiana

    March 22, 2018 at 6:03 pm

    Used tow trucks value $50,000 or extra.


  24. blockchain technology stocks price

    March 23, 2018 at 2:36 am

    Hardware wallets are safe, offline devices.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Our Mailing List

Email Format

Free iTunes Gift Cards!

Find us on Google Plus