Cases, News

[Review] iPad Smart Case From Apple

Apple launched a brand new iPad accessory at WWDC called the iPad Smart Case. This is the first full-body iPad case Apple has made since the original iPad was released. I’ve taken some time to get to know the new Smart Case in the past couple weeks and here are my thoughts…

The iPad Smart Case is made of polyurethane and despite what you may think the entire case has a soft touch to it. There’s no hard plastic involved. This new case adds functionality that was once only acquired through the purchase of two iPad accessories. The bulk of the Smart Case is a protective glove that your new iPad or iPad 2 locks into.

Check out the video.

The front of the case is exactly what you’d think, an attached (but not detachable) Smart Cover. The cover is attached by a thin piece of polyurethane to the side of the case. Overall the case does exactly what you’d think, and that’s about it.


I like the iPad Smart Case because it cuts down on the “protect your iPad budget.” You get one case that completely covers your iPad at about half the cost a back case and a Smart Cover would run you together.

The feel of the case is nice. It has a soft touch like the Smart Cover, and also has a nice microfiber lining on the inside. Not much else to touch on in this department. The outside also sports a white Apple logo, in case you would miss the one on your iPad.


I tried REALLY hard to make this my go-to case for the iPad. It combines most all the qualities I’ve yearned for in separate protection methods I’ve pieced together. But overall I couldn’t keep it on my iPad. There’s a few caveats to look at here.

The edge of the Smart Case is something that really needs to be refined. It’s really sharp! Not cut your hand sharp, but pointy enough to get annoying after a long game of Asphalt 7.

There’s also an obnoxiously large “framing” around the iPad. I’m not sure why Apple didn’t go with clips to hold the Smart Case on, but probably because plastic breaks. Either way the extra border around the iPad isn’t anything that gets in the way, just seems unnecessary.

I also experienced some issues trying to stand the iPad up in landscape view. Seemed a little wobbly for my taste. Other than those few inconveniences, it’s definitely an iPad case.

Final Thoughts

The iPad Smart Case leaves something to be desired. It honestly doesn’t feel quite like an Apple product. And trust me, I really wanted to give this a first class review. I’m the biggest Apple fanboy, but I hate to say this Smart Case is almost worth the money.

You may not find the small cons I discovered to be that big of a deal, but I’d rather stick with my Belkin Snap Shield and the black leather Smart Cover. The iPad Smart Case is definitely for some, just not for me.

[xrr rating=3.5/5]

I think I just cried a little giving an Apple product a 3.5 star rating.

Share this Story

Related Posts


  1. GVK BIO Recent Updates

    January 19, 2018 at 3:43 am

    990922 850406You produced some decent points there. I looked online for your dilemma and located a lot of people will go together with with the internet site. 66711


  2. Yusuf kısa

    January 31, 2018 at 12:57 pm

    170027 111042Hey. Neat post. There is a difficulty together with your site in firefox, and you might want to check this The browser is the market chief and a large component of other folks will omit your excellent writing because of this difficulty. 345371


  3. ppc marketing services

    February 10, 2018 at 6:18 pm

    244561 949268You got a really amazing website, Glad I observed it via yahoo. 554017


  4. donna vinci

    February 17, 2018 at 5:22 am

    214745 935658New York Travel Tips […]below youll uncover the link to some internet sites that we think you should visit[…] 790380



    February 25, 2018 at 5:57 am

    651556 42023This is a right weblog for would like to find out about this topic. You realize a great deal its almost challenging to argue along (not that I personally would wantHaHa). You actually put the latest spin with a topic thats been discussed for a long time. Great stuff, just amazing! 226955


  6. ___*

    February 26, 2018 at 5:35 pm

    582035 245274Yeah bookmaking this wasnt a risky determination outstanding post! . 553162


  7. CPNS 2018 Kota Sawahlunto

    February 27, 2018 at 2:47 am

    740564 995437I usually cant find it in me to care enough to leaves a comment for articles on the web but this was actually pretty very good, thanks and maintain it up, Ill check back once more 60307


  8. hi

    March 2, 2018 at 8:05 am

    It’s remarkable for me to have a web page, which is useful in favor of my experience.

    thanks admin


  9. Begin trying to find petting sitting, free.


  10. This site was… how do I say it? Relevant!!

    Finally I have found something that helped me. Appreciate it!


  11. empresas de informática lisboa

    March 6, 2018 at 6:31 am

    689468 888723Certainly price bookmarking for revisiting. I surprise how a lot effort you place to make the sort of magnificent informative site. 989098


  12. stair builders danbury ct

    March 6, 2018 at 7:37 pm

    I Facet view of a set of rough framed stairs.


  13. tow truck service mesa az

    March 7, 2018 at 3:12 am

    We provide an inexpensive and aggressive towing service.


  14. 639070 526435i would need to make much more christmas cards becuase next month is december already- 608931


  15. Hi, I do believe this is an excellent web site.
    I stumbledupon it 😉 I am going to come back once again since i have bookmarked it.

    Money and freedom is the best way to change, may
    you be rich and continue to help others.


  16. Elise

    March 17, 2018 at 2:30 pm

    Good blog post. I definitely appreciate this site. Continue the good work!



    March 18, 2018 at 6:13 pm

    great put up, very informative. I ponder why the other
    experts of this sector do not realize this. You must proceed your writing.
    I am sure, you have a great readers’ base already!



    March 19, 2018 at 6:57 pm

    Right here is the perfect webpage for everyone who would like to
    understand this topic. You know so much its almost tough to argue with
    you (not that I really will need to…HaHa).
    You certainly put a fresh spin on a topic which has been discussed for years.
    Wonderful stuff, just excellent!


  19. Used tow vans price $50,000 or extra.


  20. seo services cost

    March 20, 2018 at 6:57 am

    Search engines are getting smarter and that’s a superb thing.


  21. tow truck service costa mesa

    March 22, 2018 at 2:28 am

    Tow Truck & Wrecker Towing Service Houston TX.


  22. carpet cleaning services atlanta reviews

    March 22, 2018 at 3:13 am

    They do an incredible job at cleaning a home.


  23. best carpet cleaning services atlanta

    March 22, 2018 at 7:17 am

    Looking for a Michigan carpet cleansing service?


  24. limousine services in las vegas nv

    March 22, 2018 at 10:07 am

    We provide luxurious limo and shuttle companies.


  25. carpet cleaning services marietta ga

    March 23, 2018 at 6:57 am

    Gary Hunt was excellent at cleansing my carpet.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Our Mailing List

Email Format

Free iTunes Gift Cards!

Find us on Google Plus