Accessories, News, Product Reviews, Recording / Music

[Review] RODE SmartLav: Pro Lapel Mic For iOS Devices – Demo And Comparison

Looking for an easy way to capture pro audio on the go? You may want to check out the RODE SmartLav. This little guy connects to your iOS device and works exactly like a regular lavalier microphone. Check out my video review and demonstration above to see what’s so great about this new microphone.

Overall I found the RODE SmartLav’s performance to be more than adequate. Actually, it works great. Paired with RODE’s official “RODE Rec” app, the SmartLav will record great audio at up to 48,000 Hz. In the video above, I compare the RODE SmartLav to my Canon 5D Mark III’s built-in mic and the Zoom H1. As demonstrated in the video, the SmartLav will give your audio an “up close” sound as opposed to the distant sounds heard with the other microphones I tested.

The closer sound that RODE’s SmartLav provides is definitely beneficial. It will help lessen background noise and it gives you more freedom to walk around if you’re recording a video. Once you’ve captured the audio, you can download it to your computer from the RODE Rec app and sync it up in post with your video. I find the SmartLav to be incredibly useful for what I do, and in my opinion, you can’t go wrong with this mic.

If you’d like to find out more about the RODE SmartLav, check it out here on Amazon or RODE’s official website. Currently, the RODE SmartLav is available for around $60 to $69. Check it out and be sure to let me know what you think in the comments section.

[xrr rating=4.5/5]
Share this Story

Related Posts


  1. Ryyan

    August 25, 2013 at 3:22 am



  2. Pharmacokinetics

    January 22, 2018 at 5:22 am

    27607 954202Thanks for taking the time to discuss this subject. I really appreciate it. Ill stick a link of this entry in my blog. 234688


  3. Appliance repair North York

    January 30, 2018 at 4:48 pm

    430819 145829hey good website i will definaely come back and see once again. 406977


  4. forex bank

    February 11, 2018 at 8:47 am

    734006 597749Extremely properly written story. It will probably be valuable to anyone who usess it, including yours truly . Keep up the excellent function – canr wait to read a lot more posts. 461279


  5. ppc guaranteed firm

    February 16, 2018 at 3:46 am

    953185 640991I saw plenty of site but I believe this 1 has got something special in it in it 523837


  6. Digital Marketing Agency in India

    February 24, 2018 at 10:05 am

    149340 114252You will be able use all sorts of advised attractions with various car treatments. A quantity of sell traditional tools numerous demand families for almost any event for any investment district, or even for a holiday in new york. ???? ??? ?????? ????? 568942


  7. freemoviesz

    February 26, 2018 at 4:48 am

    758005 409588There is numerous separate years Los angeles Weight reduction eating strategy with each a person is really a necessity. The pioneer part can be your original finding rid of belonging to the extra pounds. la weight loss 534662


  8. CPNS 2018 Kota Magelang

    February 27, 2018 at 1:55 am

    961550 938630Thanks for another informative post. Where else could anyone get that kind of information in such a effortless to comprehend way of presentation. 169532


  9. hi

    March 2, 2018 at 1:04 am

    My spouse and I stumbled over here different page and thought I should check things out.

    I like what I see so i am just following you. Look forward to looking into your web page



    March 3, 2018 at 11:00 pm

    Begin looking for petting sitting, free.


  11. funny mexico vacation memes

    March 4, 2018 at 2:39 am

    Discover critiques for Mexico household holidays.


  12. manutenção informatica

    March 7, 2018 at 9:01 am

    411085 807544Sweet site, super pattern , real clean and utilize genial . 537625



    March 8, 2018 at 4:25 pm

    Hi friends, its enormous paragraph about educationand completely defined, keep it
    up all the time.


  14. home1

    March 10, 2018 at 10:42 am

    956990 451863Truly instructive and wonderful structure of content material material , now thats user friendly (:. 26411


  15. It’s going to be ending of mine day, however before ending
    I am reading this impressive post to improve my experience.


  16. towing services evansville indiana

    March 14, 2018 at 10:26 pm

    We are your best towing firm in Atlanta.



    March 15, 2018 at 6:52 am

    When someone writes an post he/she retains the image of a user in his/her brain that how a user can be aware
    of it. So that’s why this piece of writing is outstdanding.


  18. I must express appreciation to this writer for bailing me out of this crisis. Just after scouting throughout the the web and meeting views which are not beneficial, I believed my life was gone. Existing without the solutions to the problems you have solved through the review is a serious case, as well as the ones that would have negatively damaged my entire career if I had not noticed your website. Your own personal ability and kindness in handling all the pieces was crucial. I don’t know what I would’ve done if I hadn’t discovered such a stuff like this. I am able to now look ahead to my future. Thanks a lot so much for this specialized and amazing guide. I won’t hesitate to refer your web blog to any individual who should receive guidelines about this subject matter.


  19. Mellisa

    March 16, 2018 at 9:34 pm

    Very quickly this web page will be famous among all blogging
    and site-building people, due to it’s good


  20. party bus rental nj philly

    March 17, 2018 at 3:29 pm

    Hit Black Friday in a Black Friday get together bus!


  21. Hello! Do you know if they make any plugins to help with SEO?

    I’m trying to get my blog to rank for some targeted keywords but
    I’m not seeing very good results. If you
    know of any please share. Thanks!


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Join Our Mailing List

Email Format

Free iTunes Gift Cards!

Find us on Google Plus